Question : When was the State of Chhattisgarh formed?
Answer : 1st November 2000.
Question : When was the first sitting of the House was held?
Answer : 14th December 2000.
Question : Who was the First Speaker and Dy. Speaker of the Chhattisgarh Legislative Assembly and what was their tenure?
Answer :

Hon'ble Shri Rajendra Prasad Shukla was elected, Speaker of the first Assembly on 14th December 2000. He held the office till 19th December 2003.

Shri Banwarilal Agrawal (a member of Bhartiya Janta Party) was elected first Dy. Speaker of Chhattisgarh Legislative Assembly on 28th March 2001. He held the office till 9th March 2003 9He resigned from the office of the Dy. Speaker and on 13th March 2003 Shri Dharamjeet Singh a member of the Congress Legislature Party was elected as Dy. Speaker.

Question : Who was Protem Speaker in first Assembly?
Answer : Shri Mahindra Bahadur Singh was appointed as Protem Speaker by His Excellency Governor of Chhattisgarh.
Question : Who was the first Chief Minister of Chhattisgarh State?
Answer : Shri Ajeet Kumar Jogi.
Question What is the strength of the Chhattisgarh Assembly?
Answer : 90 (Ninety)
Question : Is there any member of Anglo Indian Community nominated by the Governor?
Answer : In first Assembly His Excellency the Governor nominated Smt. Ingird Christin Mcloud. In second Assembly Governor has  nominated Ku. Roseline Bachmann as  member of the Anglo Indian Community.
Question : How many seats are reserved for Scheduled Caste & Scheduled Tribe?
Answer : Scheduled Caste - Ten seats, Scheduled Tribe - 34 seats are reserved.
Question : What is the strength of women member of the Scheduled Caste, Scheduled Tribe and others?
Answer : One Scheduled Caste, three Scheduled Tribe and one other woman member are there in the House.
Question : When was the first Assembly dissolved?
Answer : The first Assembly was dissolved on 5the December 2003 and Second Assembly was also constituted on the same day.
Question : When House is not in session what are the functions of the Vidhan Sabha Secretariat?
Answer :

There are about eighteen committees of the House. The list of the committee is given under the heading committee. Through these committees legislature not only supervise but also control the executive. Committee examines the working of the dirrerent departments. The aim and object of the committee is to ensure that executives, carries the programmes and policies as per whishes of the legislature. For functions of each committee please logn heading "Committees".

Besides committees work Establishment, Accounts, Members' facilties, Members' accounts, Stores and Purchase, Research, Reference Library and Information Services and many other sections work round the year.

The Vidhan Sabha Secretariat is an imdependant Secretariat under the provision of the Constituion. The head of the Secretary is Secretary who carries over the work of the Secretariat under the quidance and control of Hon'ble Speaker.

Question : Does office of the Speaker gets vacated on dissolution of the House?
Answer : No. Speaker continues to hold the office till election of the next Speaker or till Governor appoints Protem Speaker.
Question : Who is nominated as a Protem Speaker?
Answer : Alos there is a provision in the Constitution but by convention the Seniormost member of the newly constituted House is appointed as Protem Speaker by the Governor.
Question : What is the meaning of Panel of Chairman?
Answer : In every session Hon'ble Speaker appoints 4-5 members in the Panel of Chairman who preside over the House in the absence of the Speaker.
Question : What is the Ordinance?
Answer : Under Article 213 of the Constitution when House is not in session if Government wants to introduce any law Governor issues Ordinance which contains legal provisions.